Can you respond persist?

Can you respond persist?

Yes, you can. The persist triggers will go on the stack in APNAP order. Since you’re the non-active player, your trigger will go on the stack last and resolve first, bringing your Clique into play.Mar 9, 2009

Does persist go on the stack MTG?

1. Yes, Persist, like most abilities in Magic, uses the stack. It can be responded to by removing the card, or Stifleing the ability.

How does persist and undying work?

This works as described. The first time it dies (with no counters on it), both Persist and Undying will trigger. If it’s returned with Persist and then dies, only Undying will trigger (or vice versa). When it dies again, only Persist will trigger.

Do creatures with persist go to the graveyard?

Rulings. All cards currently printed with persist are creatures. If one instance returns the card to the battlefield, any others will do nothing since the card is no longer in a graveyard. If a card with persist is removed from a graveyard before the persist ability resolves, persist will do nothing.

Does undying count as regeneration MTG?

In combat, you get priority to regenerate creatures before each combat damage step. Persist and Undying are irrelevant in case a creature is regenerated because the creature isn’t actually destroyed; destruction is replaced by removing damage etc.

Do undying creatures enter the graveyard?

When a creature with undying dies, the creature goes to the graveyard, and the undying trigger brings them back into play when the ability resolves. This means that because creatures go to the graveyard, both leaves-the-battlefield abilities and enters-the-battlefield abilities will trigger.

Can you counter persist?

When a permanent with Persist dies, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, it is returned it to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a -1/-1 counter on it. Persist was also used in Eventide and Modern Horizons.

What happens if a creature has both undying and persist?

When a creature with both undying and persist dies without any +1/+1 or -1/-1 counters, both abilities will trigger. Since you control both triggers you choose what order they resolve it. Whichever one resolves first will return the creature to the battlefield with the appropriate counter.

Does rest in peace stop undying?

Rest in Peace uses a replacement effect to exile the card instead, thus it does not ever actually end up in the graveyard, so Undying doesn’t trigger. Thanks for the quick replies.

How does persist work?

“Persist” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a -1/-1 counter on it.”

Do 1 1 counters stay on vehicles?

The counters remain on them when they cease to be creatures. The counters are then usable when they become creatures again.Oct 5, 2016

Leave a Comment